top of page
  • Writer's pictureProse Before

Teen Favourites – Books to Films



As a teenager I loved, and had lots of time, to read. Back then, I was obsessed with anything from vampires to werewolves, witches to shapeshifters; but I also had a soft spot for cosy reads and all things romance. So imagine when my delight when some of my favourites were then adapted into films! Below you will find some of the most note-worthy examples of this, in my opinion.

The Princess Diaries – Meg Cabot

At 16, Mia Thermopolis discovers she is the heir to the throne of Geneva. However, Mia does not know the first thing about being a princess and will need all the help she can get from her friends Lily and Michael, and her grandmother. Being a princess might sound glamourous, but it will not be easy! This book was brought to life on the big screen in 2001, starring an outstanding cast, including Julie Walters and Anne Hathaway. What more can a young girl ask for?!

Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging – Louise Rennison

Georgia Nicolson takes us on a diarised journey of her typical teenage life. For many years, I had my head in Louise Rennison’s books, just as Georgia Nicolson had her own head in her diary. I followed the trials and tribulations of Georgia’s life, including her most embarrassing moments and deepest crushes - and we all tried the pencil test, right?! In 2008, Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging was released, making us swoon over a real-life Robbie. Also, am I the only one who loved The Stiff Dylans’ cover of “Ever Fallen in Love”? It may still feature in my apple music library!

Twilight – Stephanie Meyer

Anyone who didn’t hear about the Twilight Saga in the early 2000’s must have lived under a rock. These books were everywhere, and us “Twi-Hards” were obsessed! Twilight was responsible for creating a deadly serious divide between teenage girls – Team Edward or Team Jacob? (Team Edward for life, don’t hate me!) When this was then created into a film, I must have watched it at least 20 times, or however many times it takes to learn the script off by heart! I wish I was exaggerating, but those cheekbones just didn’t exist in my high school!

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Slightly later into my teens, after I had moved on from my Twilight days, along came another series that would take over my life. The Hunger Games, a dystopian story of the battles to be the last one standing, to win the games and inherit a grand fortune, followed the Journey of Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark as they fought for their survival. Jennifer Lawrence became a household name after starring in the film adaptation of The Hunger Games in 2012. Still to this day, whenever I buy pitta breads or see my friend’s partner Peter, I continue to channel my inner Katniss – I’m not sure that’ll ever get old!

The Divergent – Veronica Roth

In another post-apocalyptic story, Tris attempts to fit into society, where everyone is split into “factions” depending on their personality. However, Tris soon realises that she is different from the others in her faction, but learns to hide this as it compromises her safety. Tris begins a journey of self-discovery in a world that fears change. In 2014, Shailene Woodley and Theo James (yum!) join the legend that is Kate Winslet in a gut-wrenching, heart-thumping film adaptation of this fantastic novel. Four was one of the first of what I would call serious book boyfriends, and set me on a path to find more tall, dark and handsome characters in future novels.

Let’s be honest, books are always better than the films. However, I believe the above are all examples of book-to-film adaptations being done well. I feel my reading preferences as a teenager continue to shape the kind of reader I am now. Four may have been my first book boyfriend, but he was certainly not my last. However, I continue to favour a tall, dark and handsome man with a bit of an attitude problem (hello, Adam Carlsen), so some things I guess we just don’t grow out of. However, I must admit I enjoy the freedom being an adult gives me to appreciate the more intimate aspects of relationship developments *cough, cough*. I wonder what the teens of today are reading! Jemma @banksyyy_books

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Publication Process: A Brief Introduction

Writers from all different backgrounds are all in different stages in their writing careers. Me? I’m currently working on my first book and trying to send out my work for publication. The latter I’ve

bottom of page